5 | 1 : Kingmaker

Posted: 07/25/2014 in Kingmaker
Tags: , , , , ,

“Ellen! Ellen!”

Ellen turned around, giving one last look before running down the street.  I ran out the bedroom and bounded down the stairs after her.  She was faint in the distance but I was closing in as she ran away.  I can still catch her, I thought.

Ellen was nearly running out of breath as I finally caught up to her, grabbing her arm tightly and pulling to make her face me.  I caught Ellen.

“Ellen, it’s me,”  I said, barely audible as the rumbling increased around us.  “I can help, lis-”

Pain suddenly struck my neck both sharp and quick.  Ellen looked at me without a single flicker or any tell as I felt the metal of something pierce deeper into me.  I turned my eyes to look at what happened with care not to move my head too much, and I saw her slowly push the last few inches of a golden liquid into my veins via a syringe.  I knew exactly what happened.  Druggie’s formula pulsed through my veins yet again.  I looked on in horror as its effects hit me all at once, making me collapse to my knees with weakness.

Ellen caught me by the armpits, holding me up as I raised my head to face her.  I felt my vision blur slightly, with each heartbeat pounding in my chest painfully.

“-ot to follo-”

I couldn’t make out her words as the sounds became faded, distorted.  She looked nice from this angle.  I bet she was staying healthy.

“-at the he-”

Another voice.  Event Horizon.  I tried to raise my hand in an attempt to communicate, but it was no use.  I looked up at Ellen.  What was she saying?

“-ive this- -out he-”

More words, faint, barely audible.  Rumbling faded away with the finer details of Ellen’s face.  Ellen moved to my side, still holding me up.  I was nearly blind at this stage, the outside world was almost entirely gone.  The rumbling was a whisper, along with the faint sound of crying behind me.  I took a hesitant step into the blurry darkness, nearly falling over.  Ellen helped pick me up.

Wait, wasn’t Ellen kidnapped?  I soon took a turn somewhere, I think it was a left turn.  Was I still even on the pavement?  I hope Event Horizon if following me, I might need help.  Ellen needs help.

“Ellen,”  I murmured, dazed and confused.  “I missed you.  Derek missed you.”

Ellen continued walking me to somewhere.  Who was it that took her?  Did she leave?  My legs felt heavy, sluggish.  Everything seemed unreal as sounds came out heavily muffled and my vision distorted with each passing step.  A quick glance showed everything looking the same as I could only make out the sky due to the colours, and even that was difficult.

“I want to return, I hate this.”

I nearly tripped over rubble.  Ellen picked me back up, slowly.  She was gentle.  Our pace picked up.  More muffled talking.

“I want to go home, don’t you?”

A finger against my mouth silenced me.  I didn’t know if the words reached her.  I don’t know if I was even speaking, my body was numb.  My movements were rehearsed, less walking and more remembering how I would walk if this stuff wasn’t in me.  I need to ask her what that was.  I bumped against a wall as Ellen led me on.  Where was I?  I’ll find out later.

I finally stopped after a timeframe I can’t comprehend, and the weight of my body and my exhaustion made me fall over into softness.  I was unable to move.

What was I doing?

***

Still dazed, still weak.  I was moved to somewhere different from where I landed when Ellen let me go.  I took a moment to gather my bearings.  There were sounds, and it was dark.  Was I blindfolded?

“-kill her-”

“-fun tha-”

More muffled voices.  I could tell them apart.  The rumbling faded consistently.  I was being taken somewhere, quickly.  A car?  A train?  I tried to move my fingers.  No response.  I tried to speak.  No response.  Fuck.

“-ello, Ry-,”  said a familiar voice.  “-at’s your na-”

I let out a groan.

“Wow, -at stu- -as quite a – D-  -ook at -”  I could almost pin it down.

“Sacrifice?” I asked, dragging the ‘a’ and drooling over my chin.  I could feel my fingers, and move them.

“-ats out o- -ag now,”  she said, pulling my hood off.  I could smell the rancid stench of rotting meat.  My vision showed splotches of brown, red, peach, yellow and green, with red and black around me.  I assumed I was in a van, and the brown and peach was Sacrifice.

“Whats that phrase?  Fool me once? Fool me twice?”

Shame on me.

I tried to move my fingers.  Sacrifice grabbed both of my hands and brought them together in her lap.

“Listen here,”  she began.  I moved my head a little.  “you are going to help me and all my little buddies here, you understand?  Now, I’m not going to te-”

I spat on her face, straight through the mouth of the sheep’s head she was wearing.  It was hard not to smirk with my accuracy.

“That’s pretty dirty,”  she said, her tone changed.

“Fuck you,”  I replied.  “You ruined ev-”

I was struck in the face before I could finish.

“That’s dirty,”  she said again.

“Go fu-”

Another punch, harder, twice.  Blood trickled down my nose.  The softness of where I sat softened the blows.  Sacrifice got up, leaving me to realize I’m on the floor of a delivery truck.  I moved my arm to feel my face, but she stood on my hand as I raised it, twisting my fingers into the floor.

“Say that you are sorry,”  She said slowly and sternly.

“Fuck you, bi-”

This time she kicked me in the face.  My head hit the wall harder.  I spat out blood, and thankfully no teeth.  She walked across the van, away from me.

“Bloodwitch, over here,”  she said.  Bloodwitch stood up.

“Fuck you!”  I yelled, blood stopping me from articulating without spraying it everywhere.  “Fuck you, you fucking fuck!”

“When I give the order, kill Trauma.  Make is painful.”  Sacrifice ordered.

“Just when I was getting along, too.”  Bloodwitch remarked, sighing.

My heart sank.  I tugged at the belts tying my torso down.

“What!?  You can’t!”  I yelled in shock.

“Exactly. Say that you are sorry or I will kill her.”  Sacrifice hissed.

I paused, staring into her eyes.  They were a deep blue.

“Ten,”  she began.  “Nine, Eig-”

“Fine,”  I shouted, looking away.  “I-I am”  I hesitated.  Fuck this woman.

“I am what?”

“I’m Sorry.  There, I said it!”

“Not good enough,”  she replied.  “Seven, Si-”

“I’m sorry I spat in your face!”  I yelled, interrupting her.  I’m not losing a friend for this.  Not for her.

“Good,”  she said, smiling.  She brought my face up to look at hers.  “You now understand what your relationship truly is.”

She spat in my face and laughed, turning back to the others.

Prev                                                                                                                                      Next

Leave a Reply

