6 | 4 : Wall

Posted: 08/02/2014 in Wall
Tags: , , , , ,

More wandering, but this time pointless.  I was told to walk ahead of Sacrifice, and she directed me where to go.  I turned around and caught a glance of her as she ordered me down a side corridor.

Killing Bloodwitch took more out of her than I thought.

“Stay,”  she said.  I heard a thump and knew she finally collapsed.

I turned to look at her.  She was a wreck.

“Christ,”  she muttered, tears streaming from her eyes.  “He did that.”

I had nothing to say.

“I think I know how you feel about Ellen,”  Sacrifice said.  Those words hurt me as she said them.  “I loved her like a daughter and he did things to her!  He forced his way into her life like that.”

She clenched her fists, shaking with rage.

“I have to stop him.”

I smirked a little, at the irony.  She deserves to know how I feel.  How I felt when she took everything important away from me.

“You think you’ll ever get your old life back?”  I recklessly asked.

“The answer will cost you a thumb,”  she said, looking right at me.

I was okay with that, I spoke out of turn, I thought as I held out my hand.  She came over and bit down on my thumb, hard.  My thumb was severed in one bite as bone crunched and I screamed in pain.

She swallowed it whole like the last time, and looked at me.

“No.  I was with them for too long,”  she said, blood dripping down her chin.  My blood dripping down her chin.

She was so different in person than the articles from the National Heroes Network said.  Sacrifice, the former vigilante who took her teammates and two local super villains on a cross country trip to cause inhuman acts on unwitting victims in the name of “science”.

This was the Sacrifice I knew.  She kidnapped me, does horrific acts and still turns around to save me over and over again.  It was confusing.

 

***

 

We continued to wander aimlessly.  I stuck close, hoping I wouldn’t have to deal with Trauma.  Ellen was gone, unless I could stop Taker, and even then it would be difficult; Everyone was more experienced with me, and my powers were surprisingly useless unless I concentrated.

“I’ve figured it out,”  said Sacrifice, jovially.  “This is a barracks.”

I gestured to my mouth.  “Can I-”

“Yes, I’m allowing it,” she cut in, turning to look at me.

“Why would a barracks become a labyrinth?”  I asked.

“Defenses.  Most people don’t plow through buildings, so having your city walls turn into a maze is a great solution for defense.”

I shrugged, accepting the explanation.

“They probably used Kumo to climb up.”

“Kumo,”  I repeated to myself.  “He’s the spider, right?”

She nodded.

“We can break out of here,” she finally said, getting up off the wall.  She punched through the hallway with her bloody hand after a few tries, and turned to me once she pulled at the wall enough to widen it.

“Close your eyes and turn around, Ryan.”

I did so, and yet again I was sent into slumber again.  I wonder what power she uses to do that?

 

***

 

I woke as I soared through the abyss.  It was dark, loud machines at work.  This was the true inside of the wall.  Texan technology.

“Sacrifice?”  I asked, rousing awake.

She was busy, landing on a room with a thud.  She put me down in a swift motion, letting me fall on my back.

“I was busy,”  she said.  “We need to get out.”

“I’m sorry, Sacrifice,”  I said, apologetic.

“It’s good,”  she replied, sitting down.  “We should talk again.  It keeps us sane.  My dad taught me that.”

“Okay,”  I said, nervous, looking away from her naked body.  “Sure.”

“Ask a question, go ahead.”

“How did you get your powers?”

Sacrifice rubbed her neck.  “Most people get them when they are exited,”  she said.  “Not in the good way, too.  It could be during a mugging, or in a panic attack, or anything, really.”

She looked at me, shrugging.

“I was lucky.  Mine was because of a discovery.”

“Discovery?”

“I was doing research on the medicinal properties of dried animal blood applied directly to the skin and well,”  she gestured at her body. “I got powers.”

“And you became a villain because of that?”

“No, I got my powers because of that.  The villain came later.  I think I started out as one.  Me, Jawbreaker, Taker, Druggie, Glutton and Fractal.  Kumo came later on and I picked up Bloodwitch when I and the others became famous.  I tried to be a hero but they didn’t think powers like mine were ‘Family Friendly’  I think,”  she meandered.

Lies.  You were a hero.  A good one, too.

“So, you are looking for a way out?”  I said once she finished.

She pointed behind me and I turned around.  There was a wall in the way, large and vast.  The wall to the outside.

I heard loud thumping as metal dented, Sacrifice working away at the room as she sat, legs crossed.  As she did so, I realized I could have escaped at any point.  I could have run away.  I chose to stay, for some inexplicable reason.

Sacrifice wasn’t quick enough.  She ducked as a room nearby swung low, missing her by inches.  The room we stood on was getting away from the wall, the labyrinth re-adjusting itself again as we sat.

“Fuck,”  Sacrifice muttered to herself.  She came over and picked me up, throwing me over her shoulder like a child and ran, jumping for a room.

We made the roof again, but barely.  She dropped me, and climbed onto the edge.  I heard a thud and crashing noise, and her hands fell away from the edge where I was.

“Ryan, climb down!”  she yelled after a moment of silence as I crept to per over the side into the deep darkness below.  “Hurry!”

I could jump, die and ruin her plans, I thought, climbing down.  She grabbed my waist and slowly pulled me in.  I thought for a moment about Trauma, trapped in there.  I felt relaxed knowing she was pre-occupied.

Sacrifice walked out and opened the door to the other side of the wall.

“Oh, this is just perfect,”  she spat, venomous sarcasm oozing out from her tone.

I followed behind her, wondering what she meant.  Kumo, Jawbreaker and Druggie stood at the door.

“You look sick,”  joked Druggie, fishing through his coat for syringes.  “Taken your shots?”

Kumo strafed to our left, I backed against the wall instinctively.

Jawbreaker cracked his knuckles.

“Ryan, I’ll need you to cooperate this time,”  said Sacrifice, slowly.  “We might die if we don’t work together, as a team.”

“Yeah,” I replied, noticing something in the sky far off.

Whatever it was, it approached, fast.  I caught a glimpse of the crown as it came close to us, stopping in the air as the backdraft swept over us.

“Halt, Spies!”  said the King of Texas.  He wore royal garbs, a red cape and crown.  His boots glowed at the soles; hoverboots.  He had a beard, and most obvious of all; he had many parchments of paper on him.

Jawbreaker, Druggie and Sacrifice turned up to look at him.  We were in the worst situation, outnumbered and under powered.

The King slowly reached for a scroll, unravelin-

Kumo show out a web, and Sacrifice pulled my arm away from him.  She ran, beckoning me to follow.

I turned tail and ran for the city as the King of Texas fought with the Hunting Party.

 

 Prev                                                                                                                                      Next

Leave a Reply

